Newland, North Carolina

Avery County Seat


Sandy Lewis - Finance Officer/Town Administrator
Jessica Buchanan - Town Clerk/Tax Collector

Monday-Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm


The Administration Department is the hub of the Town Hall and the front line for citizen interaction. The Department consists of the Town Administrator, Town Clerk (Clerks Office) and Finance Officer. The staff greets, directs and assists the people that come into the Town Hall.


Administration handles all of the accounts payable, accounts receivable, tax collection, tax billing, tracking and receiving of State Revenues.  All mail, both outgoing and incoming is handled, along with distribution to all departments including the Police Department, Public Works and Water/Sewer.


The Administration Department assists all departments and often fills in by issuing various certificates and forms and explaining Town requirements. Our Department maintains all records for the Town, requiring each Town member to have full knowledge and understanding of many aspects of operation. Cross training is imperative in our smooth functioning department.


Administration serves the Mayor and Board of Aldermen, by preparing agenda packets, issuing the minutes, handling correspondence, scheduling meetings and notification of all media as required by law.