Newland, North Carolina

Avery County Seat

Newland Town Board


The Mayor and Aldermen make policy decisions in accord with procedures and responsibilities set out in North Carolina State Law. The Town Administrator carries out policies and directives of the Mayor and the Board. The Mayor is elected every four years as are the other members of the Board of Aldermen. Terms are staggered so that seats are filled by elections every two years. Town elections for Mayor and Town Council are non-partisan and at large (no wards or districts are designated) and are held in November of odd-numbered years.




Derek Roberts, Mayor                         

James C. Johnson, Alderman

Lauren Turbyfill, Alderman

Kenny Caraway, Alderman

Gail Haller, Alderman

Christie Hughes, Alderman